Barnböcker

With the Fire on High

Elizabeth Acevedo

Pocket

129:-

Funktionen begränsas av dina webbläsarinställningar (t.ex. privat läge).

Uppskattad leveranstid 5-9 arbetsdagar

Fri frakt för medlemmar vid köp för minst 149:-

  • 400 sidor
  • 6-9 år
  • 2019

Andra format:

From 2019 Carnegie Medal winner Elizabeth Acevedo comes a dazzling novel in prose about a girl with talent, pride, and a drive to feed the soul that keeps her fire burning bright. 'Emoni's story is a gift . . . With its judicious depth and brilliant blazes of writing that simmer, then nourish, With the Fire on High is literary soul food' New York Times Ever since she got pregnant, seventeen-year-old Emoni's life has been about making the tough decisions - doing what has to be done for her young daughter and her grandmother. Keeping her head down at school, trying not to get caught up with new boy Malachi. The one place she can let everything go is in the kitchen, where she has magical hands - whipping up extraordinary food beloved by everyone. Emoni wants to be a chef more than anything, but she knows it's pointless to pursue the impossible. There are rules she has to play by. And yet, once she starts cooking, and gets that fire on high, she sees that her drive to feed will feed her soul and dreams too. And anything is possible. A sumptuous novel, food for the soul and the heart, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas's On the Come Up, Nicola Yoon and Justin Reynold's Opposite of Always.
  • Författare: Elizabeth Acevedo
  • Format: Pocket
  • ISBN: 9781471409004
  • Språk: Engelska
  • Barnbok: 6-9 år
  • Antal sidor: 400
  • Utgivningsdatum: 2019-09-19
  • Förlag: Hot Key Books