bokomslag The Librarian of Auschwitz
Skönlitteratur

The Librarian of Auschwitz

Antonio Iturbe

Pocket

149:-

Funktionen begränsas av dina webbläsarinställningar (t.ex. privat läge).

Hos dig inom 2-6 arbetsdagar

Fri frakt vid köp över 149:- för medlemmar.

  • 448 sidor
  • 2019

Andra format:

For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Choice: this is story of the smallest library in the world - and the most dangerous. 'It wasn't an extensive library. In fact, it consisted of eight books and some of them were in poor condition. But they were books. In this incredibly dark place, they were a reminder of less sombre times, when words rang out more loudly than machine guns...' Fourteen-year-old Dita is one of the many imprisoned by the Nazis at Auschwitz. Taken, along with her mother and father, from the Terezin ghetto in Prague, Dita is adjusting to the constant terror that is life in the camp. When Jewish leader Freddy Hirsch asks Dita to take charge of the eight precious volumes the prisoners have managed to smuggle past the guards, she agrees. And so Dita becomes the secret librarian of Auschwitz, responsible for the safekeeping of the small collection of titles, as well as the `living books' - prisoners of Auschwitz who know certain books so well, they too can be `borrowed' to educate the children in the camp. But books are extremely dangerous. They make people think. And nowhere are they more dangerous than in Block 31 of Auschwitz, the children's block, where the slightest transgression can result in execution, no matter how young the transgressor...
  • Författare: Antonio Iturbe
  • Format: Pocket
  • ISBN: 9781529104776
  • Språk: Engelska
  • Antal sidor: 448
  • Utgivningsdatum: 2019-04-04
  • Översättare: Lilit Zekulin Thwaites
  • Förlag: Ebury Publishing