bokomslag Speak No Evil
Skönlitteratur

Speak No Evil

Uzodinma Iweala

Pocket

399:-
  • 384 sidor
  • 2018

Andra format:

On the surface, Niru leads a charmed life. Raised by two attentive parents in Washington, D.C., he's a top student and a track star at his prestigious private high school. Bound for Harvard, his prospects are bright. But Niru has a painful secret: he is queer - an abominable sin to his conservative Nigerian parents. No one knows except his best friend, Meredith - the one person who seems not to judge him. When his father accidentally discovers Niru is gay, the fallout is brutal and swift. Coping with troubles of her own, however, Meredith finds that she has little left emotionally to offer him. As the two friends struggle to reconcile their desires against the expectations and institutions that seek to define them, they find themselves speeding toward a future more violent and senseless than they can imagine. Neither will escape unscathed. In the tradition of Junot Diaz and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Speak No Evil is a novel about the power of words and self-identification, about who gets to speak and who has the power to speak for other people. It cuts to the core of our humanity and leaves us reeling in its wake.
  • Författare: Uzodinma Iweala
  • Format: Pocket/Paperback
  • ISBN: 9780719523809
  • Språk: Engelska
  • Antal sidor: 384
  • Utgivningsdatum: 2018-03-08
  • Förlag: John Murray Publishers Ltd