Kommande
bokomslag In Every Mirror She's Black

In Every Mirror She's Black

Lola Akinmade Akerstrom

Inbunden

279:-
Kommande

Funktionen begränsas av dina webbläsarinställningar (t.ex. privat läge).

  • 416 sidor
  • 2021
A timely and arresting debut novel about what it means to be a Black woman in the world. Perfect for fans of Queenie and Americanah. Three Black women building new lives in Stockholm become linked in unexpected ways to the same influential white man. Successful marketing executive Kemi Adeyemi is lured from the U.S. to Sweden by Jonny von Lundin, CEO of the nation's largest marketing firm, to help fix a PR fiasco involving a racially tone-deaf campaign. A killer at work but a failure in love, Kemi's move is a last-ditch effort to reclaim her social life. A chance meeting with Jonny in business class en route to the U.S. propels former model-turned-flight-attendant Brittany-Rae Johnson into a life of wealth, luxury, and privilege - a life she's not sure she wants - as the object of his unhealthy obsession. And refugee Muna Saheed, who lost her entire family, finds a job cleaning the toilets at Jonny's office as she works to establish her residency in Sweden and, more importantly, seeks connection and a place she can call home. Told through the perspectives of each of the three women, In Every Mirror She's Black is a timely, richly nuanced novel that touches on important social issues of racism, classism, fetishization, and tokenism, and what it means to be a Black woman navigating a white-dominated society.
  • Författare: Lola Akinmade Akerstrom
  • Format: Inbunden
  • ISBN: 9781801108584
  • Språk: Engelska
  • Antal sidor: 416
  • Utgivningsdatum: 2021-10-28
  • Förlag: Head of Zeus